Why I’m Getting Starbucks on Valentine’s Day

This article on the National Gun Victim’s Action Council (NGVAC)’s proposed boycott on Starbucks is quickly spreading through Facebook and Twitter. The advocacy group wants stricter gun laws in the US. Starbucks allows open- and concealed-carry of handguns in states that allow it. Starbucks has been asked and petitioned to ban the carrying of guns in their stores but they continue to stand by their policy of allowing legal carry of firearms, and reminding people that the focus of the company is to run coffee stores, not write legislature. The NGVAC is proposing a boycott of Starbucks starting February 14 to show their desire for the company to ban guns in stores. They even use the photo at the top of this post to show what a group of open-carry advocates look like and then reference the gun that the Tuscon shooter used in the mass shooting last year. Now I don’t know about you but in my eyes there is a HUGE difference in the men peacefully gathered in that photo and the mentally-ill shooter that targeted congresswomen Giffords at that Safeway. The Outdoor and Women’s Outdoor Sports blogs I follow have been talking about this boycott and suggesting that we, as a community of people who enjoy shooting sports and the right to carry, should in fact support Starbucks as they stand by second-amendment rights.  We should not let fear overtake common sense.  I took a minute to contact Starbucks and literally all I wrote in the comment box was “Thank you for supporting second amendment rights and my right to carry and protect myself!” I was surprised but happy to see this email show up in my inbox the next day:

Dear Christine,

Thank you for contacting Starbucks Coffee Company.

Thank you for your feedback regarding Starbucks’ policy on open carry laws.

At Starbucks, we deeply respect the views of our customers and recognize that there is significant and genuine passion surrounding the issue of open carry weapons laws. We comply with local laws and statutes in the communities we serve. Our long-standing approach to this issue remains unchanged and we abide by the laws that permit open carry in 43 U.S. states. Where these laws don’t exist, openly carrying weapons in our stores is prohibited.

As the public debate around this issue continues, we encourage customers and advocacy groups from both sides to share their input with their public officials. We are extremely sensitive to the issue of gun violence in our society and believe that supporting local laws is the right way for us to ensure a safe environment for both partners and customers.

If you have any further questions or concerns that I was unable to address, please feel free to let me know.

Warm Regards,

Kelsey F
Customer Relations
Starbucks Coffee Company
800 STARBUC (782-7282)
Monday through Friday, 5AM to 8PM (PST)

Well said, Starbucks. Oon February 14, I will treat myself by going to Starbucks on the way to work to get my favorite drink, Iced Vanilla Latte.  If you are a supporter of the right to carry, I hope you will too.

6 thoughts on “Why I’m Getting Starbucks on Valentine’s Day

  1. Christine,
    On behalf of he guys in the picture above, I would like to thank you for using the Times.com pic.
    I am the guy talking, and we all love and support the constitution and support Starbucks for their strong belief in our laws.

  2. Some other blogs/articles suggest we pay with two dollar bills. While I know going to the bank for two dollar bills might be a pain I think it would be a good idea to show Starbucks which part of that days revenue is directly from supporters of the 2nd Amendment. If you are not familiar with how the Clemson Tigers used two dollar bills to save their games against Georgia Tech look it up. Very interesting. I’m thinking of standing outside my Starbucks & trading $ with ppl so I can hand out two dollar bills!

  3. I’m a 90 year old ex-paratrooper (508 PIR 82nd Airborne 1942-45) who just loves to see you “youngsters” go to bat for our 2nd Amendment gun rights. God bless – and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

