Why I Hunt

This trophy is not why I hunt.

I hunt to be closer to the earth that supports my life. I hunt because I have a deep appreciation of the meat I’m eating when I’ve taken the animal myself. I hunt because I want to know where my food came from and how far it traveled to get to my plate. I hunt because I know that the deer, hogs, and birds I kill lived wild and free, died quickly, and were treated with respect. And lastly, I hunt because it’s exciting and it’s something that brings my husband and I closer together.

Leave a Reply

