My Favorite Outdoor Blogs

My Google RSS Reader is full of blogs that I try to keep up with on a daily basis. And thanks to my smartphone I’m able to read most entries! My favorite part of the day is unwiding at night and browsing through the day’s posts. Here are some of my favorites:

Steve Creek Outdoors: Steve is a wildlife photographer here in Arkansas and makes a daily post with a few beautiful wildlife photos. I especially love when he takes a trip to Boxley valley to photograph Arkansas elk. I have to admit, a few of Steve’s photos have made their way into some of my class powerpoint presentations (with credit of course!)

The Goat: Backcountry.com’s blog with 4-6 very short blog posts a day. Usually a video or a reference to a news article with some snarky commentary that makes me laugh. The blog mainly focuses on extreme sports (especially skiing this time of year) which are not accessible to me, but there’s usually something I find interesting or funny.

Family Campling by Camping Blogger. My absolute favorite camping blog. Roy’s posts are filled with tried and true techniques, gear reviews, stories, photos, general advice on camping, and specific advice on camping with your family. Concise, informative posts about once or twice a week. I love camping tips so much that when I first discovered Family Camping, I literally went back to the beginning of the blog and read every post over the course of a week or two.

Free Range Family: I’ve only recently discovered this blog because the author began following me on twitter. The posts only date back to late last year so I don’t think this blog has been around long but you couldn’t tell by looking at it! The blog itself is clean and crisp and Jack’s style of writing is so smooth and welcoming. This sentence in the “About” section of the blog completely won me over: “If you already hunt and have left your family at home then you may want to take a step back and rethink your approach. You may be missing out on some great times that you and your family will remember for a lifetime.”

Leave a Reply

