Hiking at Cane Creek State Park

This weekend my closest friends here were all out of town or doing field work and my fiance left to go back to Texas so it was just me and Bogie all weekend.  The weather was beautiful Saturday so instead of watching Netflix for 8 hours, I decided to take Bogie to Cane Creek State Park here in Arkansas.  (Thank goodness I did because it snowed ALL DAY today and I didn’t leave the house!)  I’ve only hiked once with her and she did a good job but it was a very short hike so I was curious to see how she would do on a longer hike.

Looking out onto Cane Creek
Cane Creek

Cane Creek, like most Arkansas state parks, is gorgeous and very well maintained. The signage is new and the trails are well marked. I didn’t really have a plan for what I wanted to do so I figured we’d hike the Delta View trail (2.5 miles with a beautiful overlook of the lake).

View from the Overlook on the Delta View Trail.

At first she was pulling pretty hard on the leash which was throwing my balance off, especially when we were going downhill. By the time we got to the overlook I wasn’t too happy about my right side already sore. So we took a break. The park had recently cleared out some trees for a better view of the lake and the water was low so I decided to bring her down to the lake (she LOVES water). I took her off leash to climb down (she’s a smart climber!). Once we got to the banks Bogie quickly found out this lake was not like our normal swimming hole, she sank elbow-deep in the mud and seemed surprised!

Surprised to sink into the mud!

 

We went out onto the sand bar and she romped in the water a bit. My spirits were lifted seeing her have fun. We made the short climb back up to the trail and continued on. I decided to let her stay off leash (even though that is against state park regulations) because I needed to maintain balance and she wouldn’t go further than 8 feet from me! I was so impressed with how well she did! She would stop and wait for me and didn’t run off. She got very interested in some armadillos but putting her back on the leash straightened her out.

Tail tucked- Bogie’s not so sure about this place yet

 

We got to a sign that pointed to the Timberland Trail Cut Off (1.75 miles) and because Bogie was doing so well I decided we would go see where this trail went. I’m so glad we did, it was beautiful in the piney woods. Our destination was a suspension bridge where we ate lunch. I had a sandwhich and Bogie had some dog food and the crust.

Timberland Trail Suspension Bridge

 

Lunchtime

 

By the time we got back to the trailhead my hips were screaming but I felt pretty great. We ended up hiking 6.8 miles in 3 hours, including breaks! This trip has really given me the confidence to try a night backpacking at Cane Creek. And I think I’ll bring Bogie with me! 🙂

Proof that I was there!

 

Things I learned from this trip:

  • You really can hike 6 miles!
  • Don’t forget your camera cause your cell phone takes really crappy pictures!
  • Even though its warm enough for shorts you should still wear long socks or your ankles will be covered in scratches!
  • Bring a bowl for Bogie so she doesn’t have to drink straight out of your Camelbak resevoir!

 

My hike logged from my RunKeeper app on my phone:


2 thoughts on “Hiking at Cane Creek State Park

  1. Just saw your hiking story on Arkansas State Parks, and reminded me of my wonderful Irish Setter, Bogie, who was the best hiking companion for many years. It brought back good feelings. I now have two new adopted hiking companions, Sierra and Jag. Jag was adopted from the naturlaist at Bull Shoals State Park while vcationing there. We’ve transplanted him to Wisconsin, and yesterday he hiked (ran) 6 1/2 miles through the snow at a State Park here.

Leave a Reply

