Second to Last Semester

Sitting here in an empty office, fighting off a cold, I’m reflecting on the end of this semester.  I can’t believe I just finsished my 3rd semester of grad school.  Only one more to go and I’ll be released into the real world!  Eek.  In undergrad at LSU, I spent my last 3 years preparing for graduation.  Constantly updating my resume, networking, emailing professors all over the southeast.  I was so excited and ready to take the next step!  But now… I don’t wanna enter the real world!  I mean sure, it’ll be great to be making enough money to feed myself AND pay bills but I’m going to miss school!  It’s all I’ve known for the last 21 years of my life.  And it finally feels REAL, I won’t be in school anymore after next May.  Of course that doesn’t mean I won’t go back to get my PhD, but I won’t be doing that in South Texas because we only plan to live down there for 2-3 years. 

This was a pretty good semester.  I really enjoyed my class (Large Mammal Ecology and Management) and learned a lot about myself and what I want in my career.  I know I would be happiest if I could work with both handling wildlife and doing public outreach.  Which is funny cause my Master’s project has involved neither.  Its been all GIS and Statistics.  Which I also enjoy, but there is nothing like seeing a someone’s face light up as the get to pet an alligator or snake you’re holding.

Next May I’ll finish my grad coursework and hopefully by August I’ll have my Master of Science in Wildlife Ecology and Management.  I can’t believe its so close.  And I can’t believe I actually have to start looking for a big-girl job now 😛

Leave a Reply

